Missalia Project expanding (Normandy and Britain, Brittany and the Loire Valley)

December 12, 2022

Finally, we have come to the end of Northern France, and more. With the latest update, the archepiscopal provinces of Rouen (Avranches, Bayeux, Coutances, Évreux, Lisieux, Rouen, Sées) and Tours (Angers, Dol-de-Bretagne, Le Mans, Nantes, Rennes, Saint-Malo, Saint-Pol-de-Léon, Tours, Vannes) are entirely covered, containing the historical regions of Normandy, Brittany (Bretagne), Maine, Anjou, and Touraine. Most of the British diocesan uses did not survive until the age of the printing press, but we included those that did: the extremely long and detailed Missals of Salisbury (Sarum), Hereford, and York, all closely connected with the continental Norman uses. It is worth mentioning that their new conspectuses are based upon the originals and not on the reconstructive editions of Legg and Henderson 1, 2.

Back to Improvements